Go Back   High Impact Halo Forum and Fansite Non-Halo Discussion Forum Technical Support
Technical Support All threads related to console/computer issues, movie making hardware/software, etc. can be posted in this forum.
Notices
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Drew P Drawers's Avatar
Drew P Drawers Offline
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Vista - 03-07-2007 , 11:08 AM


I just bought Vista and installed it last night. A few problems.


Counter-Strike 1.6 cannot run in OpenGL mode.

I updated my drivers and restarted, and it still doesn't work.


When I do play (In software mode) it gets EXTREMLY jumpy whenever I see an enemy or shoot.


Any fixes?


BTW, I think Vista is beautiful =). It has some VERY cool things.

  #2  
Old   
sonicvanajr Offline
 
Posts: 1,353
Join Date: Mar 2006
03-07-2007 , 11:21 AM


From what I've heard a lot of games are buggy in vista.

As with XP it isn't really ready for release until the first SP

Also what video card / drivers are you using ?

  #3  
Old   
hæroicraptor's Avatar
hæroicraptor Offline
slYkni is my lover
 
Posts: 4,067
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NoVA
Send a message via AIM to hæroicraptor
03-07-2007 , 11:22 AM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew P Drawers
Vista
there's your problem.

  #4  
Old   
Daleks United's Avatar
Daleks United Offline
Plug 'n' Pray
 
Posts: 3,715
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Send a message via MSN to Daleks UnitedSend a message via Skype™ to Daleks United
03-07-2007 , 01:50 PM


Is there no DirectX option?

If you turn down the settings, does the jerkiness go away?


To err is human, to screw things up completely requires a computer.
Forum Problems? Spam? Need help? Think I've been a harsh, evil, unfair git? PM me

  #5  
Old   
Drew P Drawers's Avatar
Drew P Drawers Offline
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
03-07-2007 , 04:25 PM


The only settings I can turn are:

Display Mode (I think) (OpenGL, Software mode)
Resolution
Gamma
Brightness

No DirectX option.

  #6  
Old   
Kalos's Avatar
Kalos Offline
hey human, call a rescue
 
Posts: 7,555
Join Date: Mar 2006
03-07-2007 , 04:47 PM


I can't check right now (worthless Steam) but I'm about 80% sure rendering Counter-Strike 1.6 in DirectX just plain isn't an option for anybody.

Software mode will never work well, since you're essentially telling the program to render itself. I'm not even sure why that's ever an option.

  #7  
Old   
Daleks United's Avatar
Daleks United Offline
Plug 'n' Pray
 
Posts: 3,715
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Send a message via MSN to Daleks UnitedSend a message via Skype™ to Daleks United
03-07-2007 , 07:13 PM


Is the driver meant to support OpenGL?


To err is human, to screw things up completely requires a computer.
Forum Problems? Spam? Need help? Think I've been a harsh, evil, unfair git? PM me

  #8  
Old   
Kalos's Avatar
Kalos Offline
hey human, call a rescue
 
Posts: 7,555
Join Date: Mar 2006
03-07-2007 , 07:49 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daleks United
Is the driver meant to support OpenGL?
I would be very surprised at a diver that doesn't support OpenGL.


Here was the first Google result for "download OpenGL" you might wanna try it
http://berkelium.com/OpenGL/sgi-download.html

  #9  
Old   
Drew P Drawers's Avatar
Drew P Drawers Offline
 
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
03-08-2007 , 08:57 PM


Fixed myself.

Google'd around for a bit and found out I had to download a vista-special driver that supported OpenGL.


Thanks for the help anyways.

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Skin modified for HIH by Ducain


HIH : Halo 1, Halo 2, and Halo 3 forum, fansite, tricks, glitches, and videos - Privacy Statement - Top
no new posts