Go Back   High Impact Halo Forum and Fansite Non-Halo Discussion Forum Technical Support
Technical Support All threads related to console/computer issues, movie making hardware/software, etc. can be posted in this forum.
Notices
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Shoe's Avatar
Shoe Offline
Bowl Reaper
 
Posts: 3,368
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: QuestionableContent.net
Send a message via Skype™ to Shoe
Error loading OS - 02-09-2011 , 11:44 AM


Yesterday my computer froze, which is something it's never done before. It's gotten slow before and the frame rate has dropped a couple times for a few seconds, but it's never completely frozen. I help down the power button, and turned it back on, and just hit enter to "Start Windows normally." It takes me to a black screen with a blinking underscore, and after a few seconds it says "Error loading operating system," or "Operating system not found." Now when I restart, I don't get any prompts to start in safe mode. I still can get into the BIOS and boot menu, and what I'm going to try when I get home is putting a XP on a bootable flash drive, and using that to restore windows (even though I have windows 7, I'm hoping I can restore from a windows 7 save with XP)

Before I try that though, I'm hoping there's something I can do that you guys know will work. Is there any way to restore from the BIOS? I looked around and couldn't find anything. I would really like to resolve this issue without formatting my computer, because I really don't want to rebuild my entire music library, but I do have a windows 7 disc I can borrow from my uncle if I need to reinstall windows.

Thought: Can I restore if I boot from CD when I have the windows installation disc in the CD drive? Like, is there a prompt for it?


Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads.


Goodbye HIH. I will always love you. I hope the day comes when I can delete this from my signature. That'll mean we're back in business.

You'll always have a special place in my childhood and in my heart.

-Shoe

  #2  
Old   
laser's Avatar
laser Offline
 
Posts: 2,479
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
02-09-2011 , 06:35 PM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoe View Post
Thought: Can I restore if I boot from CD when I have the windows installation disc in the CD drive? Like, is there a prompt for it?
I think so...

  #3  
Old   
wizdum's Avatar
wizdum Offline
Warning Explosives in Use
 
Posts: 2,353
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hermon, Maine
Send a message via AIM to wizdumSend a message via MSN to wizdum
02-09-2011 , 07:56 PM


Either buy spinrite, or find someone that already has it. A slow computer followed by an OS error is almost always a problem with the hard drive. Sprinrite should fix it long enough to get your files backed up to an external drive.

  #4  
Old   
ferrari's Avatar
ferrari Offline
DELETE COOKIES?!
 
Posts: 2,102
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Multi Monitor Multitasking!!!1!
Send a message via AIM to ferrari
02-09-2011 , 11:48 PM


I've had schlapskie like this happen to me before. Just go in and rebuild the mbr, maybe that will fix it.

Also: keep your computer backed up. I keep a disk image of when I only had Windows installed with a few applications installed, including one that is specific to that install.

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Skin modified for HIH by Ducain


HIH : Halo 1, Halo 2, and Halo 3 forum, fansite, tricks, glitches, and videos - Privacy Statement - Top
no new posts