Go Back   High Impact Halo Forum and Fansite High Impact Halo Special Features Special Features Section HIH Interviews
HIH Interviews Check out people we've interviewed over the years.
Notices

Old   
Ducain Offline
Ahhhhh....yeeeaaahhhh

Frogblast Interview - 07-14-2006 , 11:00 PM

Halo trickster interviews: FrogBlast

Next in our series of interviews with Halo trick gurus, we bring you the Queso Grande: FrogBlast. If you've been around the Halo tricking community for more than five minutes, you've heard of this fellow, and I am extremely glad to have had the chance to meet up with him in the HIH virtual lounge for some coffee, Skittles, and hard hitting questions. Well...sorta. Anyhow, let's do it.

HIH: Give us some details about yourself. Who exactly is FrogBlast?

FrogBlast: My name is Rob Thibadeau (pronounced Ti-ba-do.) I am a 23 year old student at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh PA.

HIH: You were Metafire at first right? How did 'FrogBlast' come about?

FrogBlast: Yes, Metafire had been my name for a long time. The name comes from the free-to-read online book Metafire (Metafire.com). The name 'FrogBlast' is based on a quote from an old Bungie game- Marathon 2. The Simulacrums in Marathon 2 would yell strange things, including "Frog Blast the Vent Core," as they would run towards you and explode. When I picked the name, it had nothing to do with the potential trickster meaning (where frogblast=grenade jumping). I just liked the name. You can read about the quote more at the ''Sounds in Marathon'' section.

HIH: Did you start playing Halo as soon as it was released, or did it take you awhile to find out about it?

FrogBlast: I had my copy of Halo in-hand before the Xbox was released. I had been a lurker at Bungie.org for a long time thanks to the Marathon trilogy and had been keeping track of Halo.

HIH: Was Halo tricking a result of having beaten the game on every difficulty, and having nothing else left to do (boredom, for lack of a better word)?