Go Back   High Impact Halo Forum and Fansite Non-Halo Discussion Forum Technical Support
Technical Support All threads related to console/computer issues, movie making hardware/software, etc. can be posted in this forum.
Notices
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
elite's Avatar
elite Offline
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2006
Question :: Getting desperate now, lagging out problem :: - 01-22-2007 , 01:57 PM


Sorry this is so long, I have tryed to include as much detail as possible, if anyone can help you have no idea how grateful I will be. Thanks a lot!

Ok I've had this problem for nearly 2 years now and have had to just put up with it so far. Every time I get an incoming phone call or make an outgoing one, I lag out of the game I am in. When the call is being made the "internet" light on my router flashes then stops after arround 10 seconds, during the time the call is being made, and the light has stopped flashing, I can start up another game and play easily without lagging at all. However when the call is stopped I lag out again, and the light flashes for a while once more. I am on DSL, and have already tryed replacing all the filters which had no effect. One last detail is that when the call is being made and stopped (the times that I lag out of games), the internet light on my router flashes on and off slowly at first, then speeds up gradually untill it is fully lit. At this point my connection reterns to normal. Thanks again, if you need any other details I will try and give them.

  #2  
Old   
Fuze's Avatar
Fuze Offline
 
Posts: 296
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Who Knows
01-22-2007 , 02:06 PM


Do you have Sky or Cable tv. You need to filter it if you have not already done so. Thats all I can think of.

  #3  
Old   
elite's Avatar
elite Offline
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2006
01-22-2007 , 02:10 PM


nope I dont have either, thanks for the suggestion tho. I have asked this before on forums and no one seems to know...

  #4  
Old   
wizdum's Avatar
wizdum Offline
Warning Explosives in Use
 
Posts: 2,353
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hermon, Maine
Send a message via AIM to wizdumSend a message via MSN to wizdum
01-22-2007 , 02:50 PM


I have the same problem, my ISP is verizon DSL.

  #5  
Old   
elite's Avatar
elite Offline
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Mar 2006
01-23-2007 , 12:29 PM


do you think it could be due to a damaged wire connecting my PC and xbox? It has been squashed slightly... the only other thing I can think of is something wrong with my router?

Last edited by elite; 01-24-2007 at 02:44 PM. .

  #6  
Old   
Daleks United's Avatar
Daleks United Offline
Plug 'n' Pray
 
Posts: 3,715
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Send a message via MSN to Daleks UnitedSend a message via Skype™ to Daleks United
01-23-2007 , 06:53 PM


If you phone your ISP, they should be able to tell you the exact cause of disconnect.


To err is human, to screw things up completely requires a computer.
Forum Problems? Spam? Need help? Think I've been a harsh, evil, unfair git? PM me

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Skin modified for HIH by Ducain


HIH : Halo 1, Halo 2, and Halo 3 forum, fansite, tricks, glitches, and videos - Privacy Statement - Top
no new posts